Has there ever been interest in plastic injection molding?

There are a number of things I have contemplated making from recycled plastic. Thermo forming plastic always looked exciting in that it can use materials that otherwise might be thrown away (recycling) and make stuff that hackers just might be able to make and sell.

The challenge has always been the cost of molds and methods of heating plastic efficiently and then injecting at a temperature and pressure that is safe for laypeople.

There is a blow mold part I want to make recycling water bottles. But practical? Hmmmm.

Then I saw this on YouTube.

I have some experience making silicone molds which can easily take up to 500 degrees which means that for limited production run an injection mold could produce 1 to 200 units if the silicone mold were encapsulated in a steel mother mold that could take the high pressure while the silicone mold would shape the plastic.

I’d like to know if there is any interest in pursuing this technology in the Hackerspace. It doesn’t look like it would take up a lot of space and just require electricity and probably water (buckets) to cool the parts.

Thoughts?

David Richardson

1 Like

Hi David! Yes! We’ve actually been in a conversation over the last several weeks with @Destindouglas and Sam to start work on this – a neat idea involving making sister machines – they will start making one for their business (compression mold for PVC only) while ATXHS will start making an injection mold, shredder and extruder. We’re planning on getting started in the next couple of weeks, as soon as we have a system for welcoming new members that can include primer on cleaning up, distanced orientations, and basic classes (3-d print, laser, woodshop).
I would like to be making recycled filament for the 3-d printers, but also recycled anything --.