Getting ready for Halloween or Cat5?

Saw this last week and it urked me, maybe it’s a “maker” spiderweb? Lol
I run wiring for a living so I’d be happy to run them through walls and dropped ceiling instead of hanging here and there.
This can be one of my steward projects!

Can meet with someone about what’s up or I can just make notes on what’s plugged where and have it plugged in the way I found it (but cleaner).
If wire length was an issue, I have spools of Cat5 and Cat6 laying around I can use. Even some 100ft HDMI

1 Like

I can help out as well

2 Likes

That would be amazing!

I suspect that was never intended to be permanent, but it pre-dates my tenure.

@elrod might have some thoughts.

1 Like

I can’t say it predates me, but I can say I was not involved in that.
We need to determine where we want the server rack to live and then rerun most of the wiring. The rack’s current home of the electronics lab was the most convenient spot at the time, and isn’t where it has to be. Multiple times over the years it’s been brought up that it may be better placed elsewhere.
On that note I want to get rid of the rack in the lounge and replace it with a small cabinet. The required items in it can be wall mounted too.

1 Like

We want a secure, dust-free location for all the IT stuff… perhaps we could put it in the coworking space? That’d keep it secure from casual gefingerpoken und mittengraben while allowing board and designee access.

It’s annoyingly non-central, but we could wall-mount distribution switches elsewhere if we didn’t want to home-run everything.

Thoughts?

I’m sure the rack in the lounge is fine, just needs a bit of tidying up is all.
I was mostly looking the hanging wires from the ceiling.
I’m here now looking at it, and seems it’s only an extension cord and one Ethernet run per table. Is an easy cleanup, just running a conduit down per table to make it look like it’s on purpose lol