Electronics labs for school

Hi folks, I hope this is not off topic.
I am trying to help create an electronics lab/maker space/space & engineering club for my kids’ school and I’m looking for lab gear to use. I recall from tech shop the NI gear they had and really thought it was cool. I never got a chance to sit down and get to know it however so I don’t have any experience with it.

Does anyone recall what those devices were? Or can make any other recommendations for something similar? Looking at the NI site, there is a lot of stuff to choose from so I’m looking for the starting point for younger kiddos.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Hey bill. I work as a LabVIEW programmer, so I’m fairly familiar with the NI equipment.

The boards your referring to I believe are the NI elvis boards. I had one of my college classes use them before and they are pretty neat. But they run close to $3k/station.

However for middle and high school students I’d recommend they go with arduinos or raspberry pi’s instead.

Pi-top.com has some neat pi based solutions with either laptop or standalone systems. I have one of the older PI-tops by the fish tank in the lobby. (Looks like a laptop) for about $300-$400

Personally I recommend an arduino uno with shields for first time users. And arduino nano that plugs directly into the breadboard for more advanced users.

It’s all a matter of how much you want done for you, and how much you want to spend.

Thanks James, I was thinking they were elvis boards.

I’m looking at the myDaq as an option because its the cheapest thing I see and has some useful stuff for the kids to learn and I like the idea of exposing them to LabView.

I have Arduino kits and am working that in, and I see LabView has some Arduino integration capabilities so that could be interesting.

Are you looking at the MyDAQ University kit?

Personally I do prefer LabVIEW the graphic programming method I find very intuitive and easy to follow.