Basic necessary CNC bits

I’m new to using the CNC, and would like to get a few bits to do most of the basic functions with. In the class, we talked about some bits, such as the difference between upcut, downcut, compression, v-bits, o-flute etc, but there are so many options online that it’s hard to know which are any good and which will just break when looked at the wrong way.

Anyone have any recommendations (with links, perhaps) of some bits to buy or sets of decent quality cutters? Looking to do some cutting and some engraving, but not sure exactly which diameters will be needed. Could be useful to have a sort of compiled basic short list of links to bits to buy for CNC beginners. Hopefully this is not already created somewhere else and I am just missing it.

I know that @JoeN compiled a short list in this thread but I figured I’d ask and get a bit of a longer list with some more options.

Thanks!

What jobs are you thinking of? We all know there’s no “one general bit for all” of course, but it’s similar that there’s no small set of “general bits for things”.

O-flute and 2-flute upcuts in various diameters (1/8" to ~1/4"), 1/4" compression bit, 1/4" downcut 2 flute are pretty common. The 32mm dia Chinese V-carvers in various angles. That covers a lot.

But, the flute LENGTH is variable. More flute length than you need is not entirely better, it makes the bit easier to break. The o-flute and 2-flute upcuts have a range of flute depts. 1/4" compression bit comes in a couple of common variants, the important part is where the upcut-to-downcut transition point is.

There are o-flute compression bits, which are often way better. They were hard to find for a long time but now much more available.

Ball mills and tapers are typically for 3d carving.